How to make money at university and kill that student loan #1: user testing

As my son approaches university, I decided I would try to teach him how he can make, save, and spend money on a student budget.

There are numerous ways of making money online that are suitable for students, some more lucrative than others. The key is to find something that doesn’t take too much time. You can fill-in surveys for 20 hours a day and earn a few coins, but then you only have four hours left to eat and sleep and dream of the degree you are no longer getting.

I have been testing a few schemes and have found some better than others. One of the better ones is user testing where people with internet savvy test various websites or apps and get paid.

User testing

branding

By far the best is WhatUsersDo. According to their blurb:

Join our global panel of internet users and get paid to give feedback on our clients’ websites. Use your own computer from home. Our software records your screen and spoken thoughts. We pay up to 8 £/€/US$ per test.

After signing up I did an audition in which I had to record myself (using downloaded software) browsing and commenting on a particular webpage. Each test tends to look for a certain demographic — so you don’t qualify for everything they offer — but based on the tests I have completed so far, I think you can clear about one test a week and so earn about £32 / month. That’s a mobile phone bill covered.

UT-Logo

Coming in second is UserTesting. I haven’t had as much success with them although I am currently testing a game app which is offering decent money. The going rate is $10 for a website test. File under #beermoney.

2sfiiayizi_uTest_logo

Finally there is UTest which has proven to be a bit of an unknown quantity so far. I was offered work testing for Nationwide and Starbucks but they wanted people who lived in London. It’s a lot more “freelance” than the other two: you basically use UTest to create a profile which is then seen by third parties who approach you independently. The Starbucks gig offered $70. I will report back once something happens. If anyone wants to follow me I will follow back and we can feel less lonely.

Next: survey sites that don’t suck the life from your soul.

2 thoughts on “How to make money at university and kill that student loan #1: user testing

Comments are closed.