The leaders’ debate

Look, it comes down to this: do you want five more years of Gordon Brown or not?

If you do, I’m not going to go all Tea Party on you. Brown is not a closet Communist and I have no reason to believe that he is the anti-Christ, although his name is “Gord” which is “God” plus “r,” with “r” standing for “Really Evil” (or so says the spam email I keep getting from Auntie Maud). I may not like them, but “New Labour” does not spell “Apocalypse” when rendered in Arabic.

I watched the debate — the first ever of its kind in the UK — and feel monumentally depressed this morning. With all the sophistication of an X-factor audience, the poll consensus is that LibDem leader Nick Clegg far outperformed Gord and Dave. He was good if by “good” we mean he looked into the camera, seemed relaxed, and kept saying how the Liberals (founded 1839) were not like the big, bad older parties (including Labour, founded 1895). Again, he seems like a reasonable bloke, and a LibDem in government will not precipitate my emigration to Canada, but honestly Britain, are you so emotionally lazy?

Cameron was fine and had clearly decided to remain above the fray. My initial thought was that he had blown it, having been out-Blaired by Clegg, but there’s a chance the electorate will warm to this more Prime Ministerial air. Dave wasn’t the confident, aggressive Dave of PMQs, something which took me by surprise.

Gordon was weak. Bad one-liners, forced smiles, dull lists of New Labour achievements. But here’s the thing, folks: note his “I agree with Nick” pitch. He knows he can’t win so he’s stoking the LibDem vote hoping a hung parliament will bring a Lib-Lab coalition. It’s his only hope and it’s a good strategy.

Ganging up on Cameron, Brown and Clegg made it clear that the choice in this election is between centre-left and centre-right. There aren’t three parties, there are two (despite Clegg’s protestations): Lib-Lab and Tory. If you like Gordon, vote Lib-Lab. If you don’t, don’t.

I don’t and I won’t.

That’s the choice — don’t let these debates fool you. It’s Gordon or Dave, not Dave or Nick.

3 thoughts on “The leaders’ debate

  1. Although I could not manage to sit through the whole disapponting “debate”, I tend to agree with your comments. I shall try to watch the other two sessions, but regret that we could not manage to do something more useful than copy the USA’s obsession with Mr President, especially as we don’t even vote for one.

    Like

  2. I thought that Brown and Clegg were ganging up on Cameron (altho Clegg was trying not to give that impression). It made me think that they probably had something to fear. I think G&N broke more of the rules and so I would encourage Dave to be a bit more like his PMQ time self. Let’s get away from this presidential approach! I am an undecided but at the moment my vote goes to Cameron.

    Like

  3. It was all a bit of a sham. I could not stand Browns weak answers, avoiding giving straight answers. I most hated when he would put words in Nicks mouth by saying…”and I think the liberals will be with me on this one” only to then have Nick say “actually no we dont” – embarassing to see a PM so needy.

    I loved most of the policies the liberals suggested – they though I fear are talking about theories rather than realities. It is easy to oversimplify situations until you actually have a dilema to discern. I wander what their politics will look like when like every other party that gets into power they have to compromise their ideas to implimnet them.

    I like Cameron as a man/politician best. And am at heart a capitalist, but dont think that we can right now survive the conservative idealology without plunging us back into a “double dip” as it was referred to.

    I hate the way the conservatives use the “national debt” as an example of the poor labour management, when (and lets not be HOODWINKED by them) it was the bloody bankers (the pinacle of the capitalist conservative dream) who got greedy and caused this bloody recession – not the labour government! The conservative would have us further return to a feudal system where the poor have to bail out the rich. At least in Robin Hoods day the masses knew they were being screwed by the sheriff… unfortunately most of the nation who read the papers and listen to the media fail to see that the info they are given is printed by the “rich bankers” in the first place… offcourse it is going to be labours fault.

    Apart from that I like conservative.

    If we were not in position for a double dip I would be voting blue.

    All things being equal I would give the Yellows a chance – I like their ideas best.

    But since at this time I dont think blue is the best option at this time and to offset Ronans vote to my end… I will be voting RED!!!!!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.