Un-Super Bowl?

For the first time in years, I am utterly unimpressed with any of the final fours teams left in the playoff race for XL. Granted, I haven’t followed things this year as closely as in years past. However, is anyone particularly “wowed” by Denver, Pittsburgh, or either NFC team? True, Pittsburgh has looked good of late, and did a nice job against a typical underperforming Colts postseason team. However,they weren’t always so dazzling in the regular season. And it wasn’t so long ago when Carolina was in the Super Bowl (a 32-29 loos to New England in XXXVIII). Still…

Perhaps it’s all that attention Colts got this year that’s been distracting me from Seattle, Denver, and company. Perhaps there really are some compelling reasons to be impressed by this year’s Conference Championship teams. But even so, I can’t help but think that the luster seen with recent teams– New England (of course), St. Louis, Tamba Bay, Philadelphia, and so on– just isn’t there this year.

With that in mind, for this “down year” in the NFL, I’ll pick Pittsburgh over Denver 23-17 and Seattle over Carolina 24-17, and hope that whoever wins will inspire the greatness seen in the teams of past Super Bowls…

5 thoughts on “Un-Super Bowl?

  1. I have to say that I find two of these candidates compelling–one is Seattle and the other Pittsburgh. Pittsburgh because I think that no coach has got more from less over the last 15 years than Bill Cowher. I’m amazed at how competitive the Steelers have been almost every year in spite of talent defections.Seattle is interesting just because of their history of futility and Holmgren’s shot at redemption. But overall I hear you… it’s not going to be a marquee Super Bowl. But I still think I’m going to like it.

    Like

  2. Indeed, Cowher’s done an amazing job over at Pittsburgh!! If I’m not mistaken, he has the longest tenure of any active coach, right? You’re right that if there’s a compelling story, this is it. But it would be an irony if <>this<> team won it all, given that it’s perhaps the 3rd or 4th (or worse?) best of the ones he’s coached!And it’s true that Seattle does have such a futile history. It just would have been better if they’d really shined this year, a la St. Louise a few years ago. As it is, they just seem to be <>slightly<> better than the other NFC teams, and that doesn’t seem so compelling…

    Like

  3. Over at ESPN, Skip Bayless offers his < HREF="http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/page2/story?page=bayless/060120" REL="nofollow">two cents<>, holding that “I would rather eat fish eyes than see Seattle’s Seahawks in my beloved Super Bowl. The Sea-frauds have had the luckiest road to the Super Bowl this side of a fast food contest winner. I’m convinced they’re the destiny-driven product of the NFL’s easiest schedule and weakest division, the NFC West.”Of course, Bayless makes a living being a harsh curmudgeon, but I’m sympathetic to his semtiments…

    Like

  4. Well, I got the teams right, but the winners did better than I thought. But since I got almost all of the rest of the play-offs wrogn, I’m glad I got something right.My pick– Steelers. Seattle is simply too overrated, and I don’t think they have what it takes. I can make a better prediction after I do some research, but I’ve as yet no reason to think that Seattle will win…

    Like

  5. Early Vegas lines have Pitt by 4, which is closer than what I was thinking, but in the ballpark. After today, it seemed like 28-17 or 28-20 was a good idea. In general, Super Bowls played with a 2-week break (like this one) tend to be bigger blow-outs, as the better team has more time to maximize its advantage. I think Pitt has the edge, and I’m guessing that with this much time to study film, etc., they’ll work up a great game-plan.Keep in mind– as a Dallas fan, I do’t <>want<> the Steelers to add any more hardware to their trophy case; 4 Lombardy Trophies are enough. But I also like NFL champions to be worthy teams, and Seattle has not been all that impressive to me. We’ll see on 2/5, I guess…

    Like

Comments are closed.