Northumberland/Scotland

Q: Where can you go on August bank holiday in England to avoid seeing people?

A: The Cheviot Hills of Northumberland.

Every time I visit England’s far north-east I am struck by its beauty and remoteness. I imagine the Lake District was heaving on Monday. Not so these hills straddling the English/Scottish border. We hiked from Kirk Yetholm in Scotland along the Pennine Way to The Schil.

Northumberland is also the site of Hadrian’s Wall. I dug at Vindolanda in 2003 so it was nice to return with the family. The fort at Housesteads is, I think, the most northerly example of a large Roman settlement.

Our forays into Northumberland were part of a lovely family holiday in the Scottish borders.

The highlight was finding part of Dere Street — the old Roman road — in a field of cows whose attentions were somewhat unwelcome. As coincidence would have it, I listened last night to the tale of Y Gododdin, an old Welsh poem that remembers the march and defeat of ancient Britons against the Angles on Dere Street. I have to confess that the tale is new to me. That I know more about ancient Iraqi epic than the poems of these isles is something I need to rectify.

In Scotland, we also found our way to Rossyln Chapel to find the grave of Mary Magdalene to admire the stonework and enjoyed the pipes and drums at the Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo.

7 thoughts on “Northumberland/Scotland

  1. Having revisited Northumberland, Hadrians Wall and The Lake District myself this year, I have to agree. This is a part of Britain is stunning and so full of history. Well worth a visit.

    Maybe I should start my own blog about such things. Although I don’t think ‘Lowelife’ would be a suitable title.

    Kevin.

Leave a Reply

